straight razor help

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by emmijack, Dec 17, 2012.

1. emmijack

emmijack Well-Known Member

I have finally decided to take the plunge and get myself a straight razor, however, unlike a shavette where you simply change the blade I have very little knowledge about how to hone, strop, or look after one, but nevertheless I have bought THIS...
    I don't know whether this is any good, but I didn't want to spend a lot of money straight away, and would prefer to hone my skills and technique first ( sorry no pun intended).
    Any advice you can give to start me off would be very much appreciated.
    Thanks guys....

PLANofMAN likes this.
  2. Neolithium

Neolithium I am Canadian, eh

Well, the first thing once that razor arrives, would be to send it off to a professional to hone, either of these two are the best in the business:
    http://www.gemstarcustoms.com
    http://www.straightrazordesign.com

SRD also has excellent strops, or you could hunt around your favourite vendor for an Illinois Co #127 or #827, both of which are inexpensive and high quality performers. Ideally you'll want something inexpensive because people tend to nick the snot out of their first strops. 3" wide makes it a little easier to learn the proper motions as you don't need to do x-strokes while stropping such as the smaller width ones. There's also the option of paddle strops that some think are easier to learn on, I personally don't believe that anymore.

Now all that being said, for the sake of your razor don't start honing it until you've had at least 6 months experience with a professionally done edge, and have a solid grasp on stropping a razor. It's tempting, but you can royally bugger up an edge, not beyond repair but enough you'd have to send it out again to a honemeister just to get it to shave comfortably.