Whipped Dog Silver Tip

Discussion in 'The Brush' started by Ryan B, Feb 5, 2013.

1. Ryan B

Ryan B Knight of the Soapocracy

Well, I've had my silver tip brush for a week. I had been using a Semogue 1305 for several months trying to see if that would be an accurate testing period. Well, it looks like the boar was too rough on my face and part of the reason for me getting irritation in my shaves.

So when I ordered my straight from Whipped Dog, I got a silver tip brush too. It cost me $28 and came with a soap sample.

I followed the directions that came with the brush on how to get the wet badger smell out of the brush. I then took it a step further and did some test lathers on a puck of Col. Conk Bay Rum soap. The smell retreated within a day.

Then I used it to lather up my newly acquired Proraso White Soap. Man, I had no problem with it whatsoever. It held the perfect amount of water and felt great when spreading the lather on my face. I got the right mixture down as far as soap and water amounts go.

Now here's the part you guys will like. My dad noticed I got a new brush. He told me he had tried it out and it was a step up from his badger brush (Vulfix Burlington Pure Badger.) So now I know what to get him for his birthday and it's something he can actually use instead of just throwing in a drawer and looking at for years.

2. Larry Stephenson

Larry Stephenson Active Member

Excellent. You're a good son. Aint the silvertips great? I love mine. Once the kinks are worked out and you get to the point you know what you like, it's like the gates open and you're off to the races, experimenting with different things. I learned on double edge when I was a kid and got away from them very quickly. Only recently having returned to them has been fun. Found an old 1930s brass Gillette DE that's now my go-to razor for DE. Perfect angle of blade for my face.

BamaT and Ryan Bales like this.
  3. Ryan B