What are you reading?

Discussion in 'The Chatterbox' started by oscar11, Nov 22, 2012.

1. iambatman85

iambatman85 Well-Known Member

Currently reading Z 2134. Ive also recently started watching walking dead so I'm just getting into the zombie thing

[​IMG]

2. Erik Redd

Erik Redd Lizabeth, baby, I'm comin' to join ya.

Went into the Pittsburgh airport bookshop to pick up a book to read on the flight home. Found Dune by Frank Herbert that I read probably 30 years ago and decided to reread, it's obvious why it's considered a masterpiece of SF. I just wish they'd make a good 6-hour miniseries of the book, the movie versions don't do it justice.

Lexicon Devil and Norseman like this.
  3. Erik Redd

Started Means of Ascent by Robert Caro a few days ago. It's the second book in a four volume biography of Lyndon Johnson. I read the first one about 25 years ago and enjoyed it. The final volume was just released in the past few weeks, the press on it enticed me to get the 2nd and 3rd volumes (they were dirt cheap as used books). Fascinating reading.

4. BamaT

BamaT Well-Known Member

Interesting! I may have to get that series.

I'm not much of a conspiracy theorist except when it comes to the JFK assassination. I'm fairly knowledgeable about terminal ballistics, rifles, etc., and I do not buy the Warren Commission's report. My dad always thought LBJ was connected somehow. It would be interesting to read that series' take on JFK's assassination.

BigT likes this.
  5. Erik Redd

That would probably be in the final volume then. The first volume concentrates on his life up to about 1940, a couple of terms as congressman and then his failed senate run. The second volume is from 1940 to about 1948 and his successful senate race, I think the third book covers his years in the Senate and the final book covers the vice-presidency and presidency.