Merkur Futur for Beginners

Discussion in 'Shave School' started by GlennConti, Apr 11, 2013.

1. GlennConti

GlennConti Well-Known Member

I am a newbie to DE shaving. Be that as it may I bought a Merkur Futur as my first safety razor and I wanted to post about my experience with it so far. First off I bought it because it is an adjustable and it looks really cool. But after reading about it on the internet I was a little scared of it. That it was an aggressive razor even at its lowest settings. But as a newbie I think a healthy respect of the blade is a very good thing. Here are my recommendations for using it as a beginner.

1) Set it at setting "1"
    2) Use a Derby Extra blade
    3) Prep/hydrate your face well before shaving
    4) Use a good lathering brush and shave cream or soap
    5) Do a one pass shave with the grain. Be extra careful around the nose, upper lip and chin.
    6) Spot touch up gently any area you missed
    7) Don't try to get too close to the nose on your upper lip
    8) Apply an after shave balm to sooth your skin

I realize that YMMV but doing the above got me a CCS/SAS. But it also allowed me to gain confidence in the razor without cutting myself or irritating my skin. This is a conservative approach which worked well for me. I am expecting to go to a 2 pass shave next or dial it up to 1.25. But I am going to take it slow. Comments will be appreciated. Thanks.

Bristle Me, Tdmsu, Raven312 and 2 others like this.
  2. feeltheburn

feeltheburn Well-Known Member

A Futur was my 2nd razor and I didn't feel it was all that aggressive on the lower settings. For me, the Futur has a knack of making me not really feel the blade much at all compared to almost all my other razors. It's a great razor. It will get pretty super aggressive on the higher settings though.

I'd change only one variable at a time. If you're trying 2 passes next, try it just leaving the razor set on 1. After that works out, then start dialing it up.