Would you have a razor re-plated???

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by mbastings, Sep 16, 2013.

1. mbastings

mbastings Active Member

I saw the recent post asking about buying a re-plated razor, but that referred to the trustworthiness of a seller. I am curious since I'm just getting into the collecting phase of this obsession, If you find a vintage razor that you really love...how many of you would indulge in having it re-plated. Is this common? Do you prefer the patina from the age of the razor? I know that the Razor Emporium offers a service to re-plate in Nickel, Rhodium, or Gold. Does this increase/decrease the value of the vintage razor? There are some pretty pricey re-plated razors on their site, and I didn't know if it is due to increasing the value, or simply because it is a very desirable razor. As always, thanks for any insight. It's always appreciated.

2. Queen of Blades

Queen of Blades Mistress of Mischief Staff Member

Moderator Supporting Vendor
    Used to be less common not that long ago. Now? Tons of replated razors floating around.

You might want to research Razor Emporium though, if you are considering replating. Not the most favorably viewed replater. They don't do their own replating from what I understand. They send razors out to be replated.

Somebody will come along with referrals to other replaters, I'm sure.

3. Neolithium

Neolithium I am Canadian, eh

Recommended ones are Reliable Electroplating and Restored Razors
    As a number of people routinely say - Razor Emporium is somewhere you roll the dice with; they have turned out some fantastic razors, and in other cases botched not only plating jobs, but have in other cases lost heirloom razors that people have sent them.

4. mbastings

mbastings Active Member

And that's why it pays to ask questions. Thanks.

BamaT likes this.
  5. feeltheburn

feeltheburn Well-Known Member