Long time trolley 1st time poster

Discussion in 'Welcome Center' started by obturador, Oct 18, 2015.

1. obturador

obturador Active Member

Hi all,

For months I've been silently trolling this forum as I'm new to wet shaving and I'm looking forward to improving my techniques. I'm my times trolling your forms I've gotten a good vibe from the posters so I figured I cone out of the shadows so to speak.
    I've using a merkur 34c as my razor and put in a preorder for the blackland blackbird. Which I'm very much looking forward to. I've been working slowly on my technique but neck irritation is getting the better of my skills.

I thought I'd introduce myself as I have picked up alot of good info from you guys. Thank all

2. Norcalnewb

Norcalnewb Magnanimous Moos

Welcome to TSD!

obturador likes this.
  3. Hodge

Hodge Well-Known Member

Welcome from western Canada.
    To better understand the irratation you're getting on your neck, you might want to expand on your shaving IE direction, # of passes, blades you've tried..etc

I found my hair on my lower neck grows in the opposite direction than the rest of my beard. Shaving in all one direction ends up with atg and irration on my lower neck. I shave up (wtg) on the lower part of my neck.

Last edited: Oct 18, 2015
    obturador likes this.
  4. david of central florida

david of central florida Rhubarb Rubber

welcome, and nice to share with you.
    witch hazel applied to the area should help with the irritation, it's very soothing

obturador likes this.
  5. Mr. Shaverman

Mr. Shaverman Well-Known Member

Welcome!

obturador likes this.
  6. obturador

obturador Active Member

Hi I guess we are neighbors as I live in western Washington state. You are describing my situation as my lower neck grows up and out ward which has make it tricky to get a handle on.

My preferred hardware as I'm finding out is previously mentioned merkur 34c with the astra sp blades. Of the bunch I've tried those I seem to respond better to.