Need help young WetShaver

Discussion in 'Shave Soaps' started by Mike-R41, Jul 6, 2019.

1. Mike-R41

Mike-R41 Well-Known Member

okay okay 26 year old here looking for a different kinda soap. A cologne based! Stirling Executive Man i here is molded after Creed Aventus... Never smelled it but from what I read it’s good for a date night or something of that sort . I’m new to this thing and I only have 2 soaps!!! Proraso Red was my first one and my 2nd is Stirling Barbershop. Thank you for your advice is greatly needed and appreciated
    -Mikey​

2. lightcs1776

lightcs1776 Well-Known Member

I have Sterling Barbershop. Awesome sent and great performance.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

Mike-R41, Paul Turner and Frijolero like this.
  3. Edison Carter

Edison Carter Well-Known Member

Sample pucks at Stirling are about $3.
    Great way to take a test. They will last a nice amount of time too.

I like....
    Executive Man
    Mountain Man
    Island Man
    Deep Blue Sea
    Piacenza
    Sandpiper
    These are all dupes of popular scents. There are others too.

Other soap makers do well too.

One of my daughters is your age and had me buy Sandpiper for her to give him. There is one.

I've never heard a complaint on Piacenza.

Good luck

4. PLANofMAN

PLANofMAN Eccentric Razor Collector Staff Member

Moderator Article Team
    If you want "cologne based" soaps, you should give Barrister & Mann a try. Will specializes in making soaps based off of old classic men's fragrances. I like his 'Cologne Russe,' which is based off of Russian Leather.

With that being said, you can't go wrong with Sterling. They have an excellent reputation. Italian Barber is another good store to try. They have a wide range of scents.

Saponifico Verisino is another good soap. The scents are hit or miss for me, though. Some I really like and some are just 'meh.'