1 for shaving and 1 to collect? Lady G's and color loss

Discussion in 'Women's Shaving' started by VictoriaRose, May 22, 2013.

?

1 or 2?

1. 2, one for shaving and one for collecting

18.8%
  2. 1, you're being silly

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. 8, 2 of each color!

81.3%
  1. VictoriaRose

VictoriaRose New Member

Hey y'all =] I'm victoria and I'm new to all of this business. I have just received my first non-disposable razor ever, a blue lady gillette, in the mail today. It looks to be almost mint, not a scratch on it!

My issue is, I feel like my new razor should be on a pedestal to be admired and never to get wet. Which is crazy talk right? It's a razor. In all of my shave forum lurking I have read at least twice about people cleaning their Lady G's and losing color from the chemicals/scrubbing, and it seems soap scum likes to head right to the stars where paint loss would be a problem. I'm wondering if I should find one just as clean but a little less pretty for daily use, so I don't hurt it? Does anyone else have separate copies of the same razor for using/collecting? Have any of you noticed a color loss in yours over time? I mean it's a razor, it's meant for a purpose. I feel ridiculous. :ashamed001: I've literally been taking it out and admiring it every hour or so since it arrived. Is this how acquisition disorder happens?

(guys are welcome to chime in, I chose to post here because the lady gillette is the only razor I've heard of with colored paint that comes off with regular use/cleaning and I thought I might get the most answers about this particular razor here). =] Thanks.

2. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

First, welcome to the Den! Be sure to sign up for our May Newbie Give-Away.

Second, no, you're not crazy.