applying cream with hand

Discussion in 'Shave Creams' started by jcr12388, Jan 8, 2013.

1. jcr12388

jcr12388 Member

does anybody here apply shave cream with hand? Are there any drawbacks to using your hand rather than a brush?

If you use hand, how do you apply it? how much water to add as well? thanks

2. 178-bplatoon

178-bplatoon Well-Known Member

I'm sure you can do it although I have no first hand experience. I enjoy applying my soap/creme using the brush way to much! :) Using my hands is to much like using canned goo...:(

3. Williams Warrior

Williams Warrior Well-Known Member

The only time I use my hand is when using Barbasol. I'm sure it can be done but you won't end up with very good lather.

4. PLANofMAN

PLANofMAN Eccentric Razor Collector Staff Member

Moderator Article Team
  5. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

First, welcome to the Den.
    Be sure to sign up for the January Newbie Give-Away.

The only time I used my hand to apply shaving cream was, as Keith said above, was when I used the canned stuff. Haven't used that in years.
    Since it requires a brush to whip up the lather from a good shave soap or cream (the kind NOT in a can), I use the brush to apply the lather.

Sounds like you may be talking about brushless creams. How to use? Just follow the directions. Put some in your hand, massage onto your face.
    How much do you need? Just enough to cover the whiskers. Anything more than that is just for fun.

There are some folk out there who use and like the brushless creams. I'm not one of 'em.

6. alpla444

alpla444 That's sweet!

Hi and welcome to the shave den, the only time I use hand is with Nancy boy shave cream, which is brush less (but does state a brush can be used) I prefer to use that as a brushless.
    If you want to stay brushless the Nancy boy signature shave cream is fantastic I recommend it.

7. Kevin K

Kevin K Well-Known Member