Arks as my first finishing stone

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by atbat82, Jan 27, 2020.

1. atbat82

atbat82 Well-Known Member

Hi All,

I will preface this by saying that I am Brand New to honing. New might even be a stretch since I haven’t actually honed anything yet.
    @speedster was nice enough to take me under his wing and is selling me a set of SuperStones that he no longer uses.

Despite the fact that I haven’t used the SuperStones, I’m already thinking ahead to a natural finishing stone. I came across a couple listings on eBay for a Translucent Ark and an ark set (Soft, Hard, and Black). They’re nicely mounted in wood and look to be in good shape. They’re also attractively priced.

So my questions: should I just stick with synthetics for now until I learn how to hone? (I suspect the answer is yes). Are Arks a good first finisher? I’ve heard they’re slow but they provide a nice edge. If I pass on the Ark and stick to synthetics, what else would I need (assuming coming off a 10k or 12k)? I’ve got linen and cotton strips, leather etc.

I appreciate the help! I’m looking forward to being able to put my own edge on my razors!

Chuck Naill and Karl G like this.
  2. DaltonGang

DaltonGang Ol' Itchy Whiskers

I will be as blunt as possible. Learn with one set of stones first. Use them, until you have mastered them. Then you can move on to other stones. One way to find out if you have mastered something is to be able to hone several types of blades, with varying issues, and hone them correctly with consistency. To see if that is the case, have a resident "Honemeister" either examine your edge, or have him hone one for you. That way you can get a professional opinion.

Chuck Naill, atbat82, Karl G and 2 others like this.
  3. DaltonGang

DaltonGang Ol' Itchy Whiskers