Battle of the SE! GEM Micromatic or Ever-Ready?

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Tim Spencer, Aug 24, 2019.

?

Battle of the SE! GEM Micromatic or Ever-Ready?

Poll closed Sep 24, 2019.
  1. GEM Micromatic

1 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. Ever Ready

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. What? Buddy you better get this 'other' vinatge SE and it's ________

1 vote(s)
    50.0%
  1. Tim Spencer

Tim Spencer Well-Known Member

Hey,

I am considering buying a cheap vintage SE razor. The two I'm looking at are the GEM Mircomatic and Ever-Ready. I have zero experience with these types of razors. Which one should I get?

Jorvaljr and Terry like this.
  2. ordinaryshaver

ordinaryshaver Well-Known Member

Depending on the Ever-Ready model, it could be a tough choice.
    I'm at a loss to go pros and cons without knowing that variable.
    If you need anyt more opinions, head across the street, we have lots of lovers of both.

Terry likes this.
  3. jimjo1031

jimjo1031 never bloomed myself

Also on the Micromatic, are you considering the open comb or the closed comb? I'm assuming the closed comb, Clog Pruf razor.

Terry likes this.
  4. Terry

Terry Tool Admirer

Well Tim, that depends on you. I like both with my preference towards an open comb Micromatic. But I use (read love) nice efficient razors, some call them agressive. Now some Ever Ready razors are kittens, most are on the efficient side.
    If you like a Gillette super speed, try out a GEM push button, Superlite or a maybe a GEM GBar. I use a Fatboy or Slim on 9 with a new Feather blade. If thats your style, try out a GEM Open Comb Micromatic. Remember that most SE's have some differences, most are just not as forgiving as say a Super Speed. If you get one just take your time and be especially careful of any pressure you might get away with on some DE's.
    I think they're all great, but that's me.
    good luck!
    tp

jimjo1031 likes this.
  5. Terry

Terry Tool Admirer

Like the pup
    nice
    tp