Bay Rum "families"

Discussion in 'Scents' started by gorgo2, Jun 25, 2011.

1. gorgo2

gorgo2 geezerhood

I'm no expert nor have I tried all brands (esp. the expensive ones) but based on the ones I've tried or heard about, BRs seem to fall into three general categories: (a) lots of clove, (b) kinda clovish but not bad, and (c) no clove at all. I prefer as little clove as possible so my favorites are below. What are yours?

(c) no clove
    Stephans
    Superior 70
    Oglala

(b)
    old '60s era Avon BR (jug/barrel era...has something resembling clove but isn't really)

2. stingraysrock

stingraysrock PIF'd away his custom title

I detect a lot of clove in Dominica and Clubman.

3. Hogrider

Hogrider Member

Bay Rum

I have used Dominica Bay Rum, Superior 70 and Ogallala with Limes and peppercorns. I like all three; however the Ogallala seems to me to be the more refined of the three with the Dominica being more stronger both alcohol content and scent. HOG

4. crackstar

crackstar Israeli Ambassador to TSD

The Burts Bees Bay Rum cologne in my honest opinion, is the nicest. In 2nd place, I would rate Pinaud. (my wife hates the both! :happy102 :happy102)

5. Williams Warrior

Williams Warrior Well-Known Member

Ogallala is the only one I've tried and I think it smells fantastic. Just very short lived.

6. southernscribbler

southernscribbler Well-Known Member

On Burts Bees BR cologne, I think that it's outstanding, and is the only BR cologne that I have used.

Aftershaves, I have Clubman VIBR (very clovey) and Master Bay Rum ( a lot less if any clove) and Burts Bees BR. I love the Clubman the best and will sometimes add a dash of Master BR with it. Burts is very nice too, but to my nose it has more of a cedar scent more so than a clove scent mixed with the Bay Rum.

7. JAWilliams

JAWilliams Member

I like the TSD store Bay Rum

Paul Turner likes this.
  8. RABIDMONKEY

RABIDMONKEY Active Member