Beginner's Dabbling in Brushes

Discussion in 'The Brush' started by TheBurgh, Apr 24, 2022.

1. TheBurgh

TheBurgh Active Member

I am an avowed and dedicated novice, climbing the learning curve of DE (so far) and cream face lathering with the fabulous, generous help of you here.

Having read, asked and read some more about brushes, I have released my inner thrifty RAD to assemble a small, low-cost trial stable of boar, synthetic and horsehair brushes. Badger is missing solely because I have been unable to draw any conclusions about badger which might fit my criteria. (Can you make a recommendation?)

What criteria? As described in my thread regarding a search for synthetics, "Looking for a stiff, dense, non-floppy, scrubby, grind-the-lather-into-the-beard synthetic brush. Not interested in the spreading, painting or splaying type of brush. Really not concerned with whipping the lather or the amount of lather retention by the brush." Since that thread, I'm no longer limited to synthetics.

So here they are (as of this writing):
    1. Omega S synthetic
    2. Proraso Pure boar
    3. Semogue 610 boar
    4. Vie-long Peleon horsehair (kindly PIFed to me by BRC)
    5. Stirling 24 mm boar
    6. Simpson Trafalgar T1 synthetic

The buying theme has been stubby/short loft, bulb-type, high density and stiff (when I could find that description). I like travel-sized brushes.

No conditioning is planned other than shave, shave and shave. I'll do my best to report back here, knowing that breaking-in periods, numbers of brushes and every-other-day shaving will make for a lengthy, enjoyable experiment.

Meantime, have you any comments, suggestions or constructive criticisms (which might help me and other beginners)? Suggested additions (including badger)? What am I missing and why?

Thank you for getting me to this point in my new favorite hobby. YOU FOLKS GOT ME HERE AND WILL PROPEL ME FORWARD!

2. Jorvaljr

Jorvaljr Operation Daytona 8000