Cleaning safety razor?

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by coche1, Mar 9, 2012.

1. coche1

coche1 Actively Wishing Member

I have an EJ DE89L razor that I've been using for a couple of months now, but this is really meant to get a couple of quick answers to apply generically to cleaning razors. It is starting to get a little caked up with residue and gunk. I've seen the suggestions to soak it in scrubbing bubbles numerous times, but there are at least a dozen different variety of 'scrubbing bubbles' available. Do any of these products contain things that could be harmful to the razor? I know some have bleach, which I would think should be avoided, right? Are there any other specific cleaning agents that should be avoided for use on razors?

Thanks.

2. Sara-s

Sara-s This Pun for Hire

Bleach can be corrosive. I think stuff like scrubbing bubbles makes sense- it is designed to break down soap residue.

coche1 likes this.
  3. CyanideMetal

CyanideMetal Wild and crazy guy

Use a tootbrush, hot water and Dawn detergent.

coche1 likes this.
  4. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

Cover with Scrubbing Bubbles and let it soak until the bubbles are gone. Take a soft toothbrush to it, if need be. Rinse under warm water and dry.
    It's the only thing I've ever used on my 30-some odd razors and never had a problem. They've all shined up nicely, and were disinfected in the process.

coche1 likes this.
  5. coche1

I don't mean to come off as abrubt or rude here (and I've been told I'm coming off that way more and more as of late- I'll blame lack of sleep!) but what kind of "scrubbing bubbles" are you using?
    All Purpose Cleaner - Heavy duty
    All Purpose Cleaner - Lemon Power
    Bathroom Cleaner with Color Power Technology
    Daily Shower Cleaner
    Extend-A-Clean Active Scrub Cream Cleanser
    Bathroom Cleaner
    Mega Shower Foamer
    Fantastik All-Purpose Cleaner with Bleach
    Fantastik Oxypower Multi-Purpose Cleaner