Custom handles

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Shamrock, Nov 29, 2013.

1. Shamrock

Shamrock Active Member

Newbie here, and I've been searching the threads for info on custom handles. I've found info about different razors, but have yet to see anything on the Merkur 23C (long handle). I like the shave I get from it, but the handle is a little thin for my hands, and I find my hands tire trying to grasp it, so I'm hoping for a fatter handle, preferably with knurling. I really love the stuff I see that Bob's Razor Works (Robert Smith) created, but he passed last year, and my only hope of one of his handles is someone looking to sell theirs.

Any ideas?
    Thanks

2. Ryan B

Ryan B Knight of the Soapocracy

iKon and Weber both sell handles. It sounds like you would like the Bulldog style that both companies offer.

And welcome, nice to have you here.

Shamrock and RaZorBurn123 like this.
  3. Shamrock

Shamrock Active Member

Thanks, I'll check them out; yep, I've seen the Bulldog handles, and that's exactly what I'm thinking.

RaZorBurn123 likes this.
  4. Ryan B

Ryan B Knight of the Soapocracy

I can speak for the Weber Bulldog, because I own one. It's knurled really well and is pretty solid. For less than $50, you can have one of those handles shipped to you.

Shamrock and RaZorBurn123 like this.
  5. Shamrock

Shamrock Active Member

Thanks for the info Ryan, I've sent an email to Weber asking if their Bulldog will fit the 23C...and I love that it's as easy as adding it to my cart at Amazon - already set to be pulled from my account with no other hassle.

6. Shamrock

Shamrock Active Member

Update - got an email from Webber confirming that their Bulldog handle will work on the 23C, so it's been purchased. :)
    Looking forward to the shave experience with a heftier handle. Thanks again Ryan.

RaZorBurn123 likes this.
  7. RaZorBurn123

RaZorBurn123 waiting hardily...............

I have/use a Weber bulldog on my Muhle R41. It makes a huge difference!