Economy Soap Choices

Discussion in 'Shave Soaps' started by willir6, Feb 27, 2009.

1. willir6

willir6 New Member

Hello Everyone!

I am brand new to wetshaving and I am also a college student. This means that I have little money to express my desire to try the many types of shave soap out there. I received a Col Conk soap when I purchased my razor and that is all I have been able to use so far. So my question is, what soaps out there do you recommend for their affordability due to my limited budget?

2. Will

Will Nevermind

Col Conk is a good one.

Also Van Der Hagan (the same thing) Williams, Tabac, Taylor of old bond st are good for the money.

Should also check out some of our local vendors (such as the TSD Store) Soapbuddy, The Gentlemans Quarter. etc...

3. 1969Fatboy

1969Fatboy New Member

Welcome aboard! I would say for the cheapest....VDH (vanderhagen.sp?) which can found at walmart or most drug stores. $2 a puck and I hear its mighty fine things about the stuff. I would strongly suggest personally though Tabac or Pre De Provence. Both are around $15 but will last many months and really will give you a quality shave. There are many inexpensive soaps also. The Shave Den soaps are $7 for 4 ounces and its a damn fine soap as well! I personally would probably go with the TSD but maybe pick up some VDH at the local store also.

4. lamontqsanford

lamontqsanford New Member

:sihns011

5. Dr. Mike

Dr. Mike New Member

By affordable, do you mean low price, or best value? If you don't want to pay a lot, I think you should try out the TSD soaps - you get a lot of soap, and they really are nice for a cheap price. But these soaps will run out quicker. If you want to make a little bit bigger initial investment, there are several really good triple milled soaps that will last much longer, and you can get a refill puck (save yourself the money and don't buy them with the soap bowl) for under $20.