From Pa., thanks for having me

Discussion in 'Welcome Center' started by Pagunsandham, Oct 13, 2018.

1. Pagunsandham

Pagunsandham New Member

Thanks. Im new to straight razors but not to knives and sharpening. However this does seem to be the evolving next step!! I have a few old straights that I am restoring when time allows. In the interim, I bought an old RedPoint that I have reset the bevel on and sharpened. It was cheap enough to learn on, Took a while to get the hang of it, but man is it smooth now. After the last go round of honing, it was so smooth I gave a go at me head!! (since I dont have hair anyhow and have always cartridge shaved it) Man the experience was GREAT!! only one small nick. My wife thinks that I have finally cracked with this new venture. I just received my new Tony Miller Plain Vanilla. This thing is SWEET!! figured it was a good one to learn on for the money. I bought a couple cheap chinese stones that while they do the job, I found that I have to CONTINUALLY flatten them with my old DMT to keep them in order. They are super soft. FAIL. gonna invest in a couple good stones now. I have been experimenting with ARKO with mixed results. Have some questions on that subject, but ill take it to the appropriate forum.
    Anyhow, thats the straight razor intro from me.

Also into guns and amateur radio. .......and hobby machinist, mechanic

Thanks guys,
    Brad

2. battle.munky

battle.munky Has the menthol.munky on his back!

Welcome! Arko is great stuff at a great price as well. Keep at it with different amounts of water and you'll figure it out. Test lathering is not a fools errand even though it may feel like it at the time ;)

3. jimjo1031

jimjo1031 never bloomed myself

Welcome to the Den.

4. wristwatchb

wristwatchb wristwatch "danger" b

Welcome to The Shave Den!

5. Norcalnewb

Norcalnewb Magnanimous Moos

Welcome to TSD!

6. Orville

Orville Active Member