Going to open up a can of worms

Discussion in 'General Shaving Talk' started by RetLEO-07, Jul 19, 2017.

1. RetLEO-07

RetLEO-07 likes his penguin deep fried, with pink sparkles

For the past week and a half I have been auditioning blades for my 1911 Gillette OLD. I have scored more BBS shaves in this week and a half than probably the last 3 months. Now I've been strictly DE shaving since 4/16. And all that time I've been hearing that a Straight Razor shave is the closest you get.
    (Here it comes) I beg to differ.
    I would stack my BBS shaves up against a SR shave any day. I understand that the angle is different and that is why a SR shave is closer. But is it really?
    I submit that the BBS you get with your straight and I get with my OLD is just as close. Sure, you're shaving with a naked blade and I have a cap and baseplate. At the end of the day, that BBS at 0600 is starting to sprout, for me at least by about 1230-1300. You may last a tad longer but it still starts to sprout.
    :scared003: That's my opinion. Feel free to show me I'm incorrect.

RaZorBurn123, Keithmax and George X like this.
  2. PanChango

PanChango Not Cute

I have been at it for about 7 years and what I have come to learn is that it doesn't much matter the tool you use. As long as you enjoy using it and know how to get the most out of it, you will get a good shave. There are many paths to the same destination. Enjoy.

3. George X

George X Well-Known Member

The old types are phenomenal shavers that part I won't argue. My momma taught me if I have nothing good to say I shouldn't say it...but I have to say this about your can of worms you opened up...I don't like worms.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

4. Bama Samurai

Bama Samurai with Laser-like Focus