Got A New Brush - Semogue 830

Discussion in 'The Brush' started by Dirtfarmer, Sep 30, 2019.

1. Dirtfarmer

Dirtfarmer Well-Known Member

So I'm kinda new to this wet shaving deal and love it. I'm stuck on the old razors but have been looking at some of the newer ones. I started out with Barbasol shave cream. Moved on to TOBS and a Perfecto brush. Love that brush. Then I got to looking out for brushes at flea markets and sale barn type sales. I found a Burma-Shave brush still in the package with a mug and soap. I sanded the form mold lines off of it and polished it up nice and pretty. It works very well. I've got a couple of more that are going to have to be re-knotted. All that said to say I just got a brand new in the box Semogue 830 brush. It's a pretty little brush and I've read a lot of good thing about it so I wasn't worried about the quality. It had a very slight pig smell but a couple of lathering with Dawn and shampoo plus 2 with TOBS St. James Collection, no more smell. I soaked it in cold water for 24 hrs, dried it on a towel for 10 minutes and repeated this 2 more times. The brush is so soft and felt so good, the first 3 pass shave I used it for, I lathered my face 5 times. LOL. Amazing.

I can already see this wet shaving is going to turn into another R/C car deal for me. Start out with a $100 car and end up with a $500 rig with all the stuff to go with it. LOL. Wet shave they said, It'll save you money they said. Here we go again:angry032:

BamaT, RyX, AGHisBBS and 6 others like this.
  2. Douglas Carey

Douglas Carey Wildman

Got a picture?

RyX and RaZorBurn123 like this.
  3. Dirtfarmer

Semogue 830 and the Burma Shave I polished on a little. IMG_0764.JPG IMG_0763.JPG IMG_0722 (2).JPG IMG_0723 (2).JPG IMG_0724 (2).JPG

4. Douglas Carey

Douglas Carey Wildman

Rhody, RyX and brit like this.
  5. jimjo1031

jimjo1031 never bloomed myself

Semogue Excelsior is one of my favorite brushes. Great when it's completely broken in.