Hello From South East Missouri

Discussion in 'Welcome Center' started by Dirtfarmer, Jul 21, 2019.

1. Dirtfarmer

Dirtfarmer Well-Known Member

Hello all. I'm new to single blade shave world. I was going threw some of my dads old stuff and came across a Gillette razor. I thought it looked kinda cool with that red end on it. I figured it was my dads way of marking his razor. Being a snoop that I am, I kept digging. I found another Gillette but this time it had blue end and was in a blue plastic container with a clear lid with a pack of blades. Well, I had to go back threw the stuff I just put up to find the red one to compare the two. I found it and looking at them side by side, I decided this wasn't him marking his "tools" as he was apt to call that kind of stuff. Well, I opened a old cigar box and there was something wrapped up in what looked to be a old wash rag. It was another Gillette razor but this one was longer, skinny handle with a dial of some sort with number on it 1-9. I'm not sure it had ever been used because it didn't even have any soap or water spots on it. When I told my mom what I found, she just kinda laughed and said there was probably more of them somewhere. She showed me some pictures of my dad and me when I was maybe 4 or 5 with me "shaving" with my dad. Face soaped up and all. He would slip the blade out while I was working on my lathering skills and talk me threw the shave. Needless to say that when I got new blades for the Red Tip, I had forgotten all the good advise he gave me way back when. LOL. Thank goodness for the interweb machine for some good advise.

All that history to get to this part. LOL. Yes, I'm now hooked on wet shaves, old razors, good shave creams and soaps and am fighting myself to not get started on brushes.