Help w/info on antique Joseph Rodgers razors

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by RgR, Jun 26, 2021.

1. RgR

RgR New Member

I am a newbie here, simply looking for historical documentation on a couple Joseph Rodgers and Sons straight razors, that were in what I call a "gentlemans chest" along with a couple of boot jacks, "French fit", and separate compartments, a tray etc.
    The box is
    This box according to family history may date from the late 1700s.
    The razors trademarks are a bit different than the others I have found on the net, as they dont have the what us gun guys call "proof marks", but only the address.
    If this is not the right forum, pardon my newbie status :)
    I am 65 years old, I have no clue how to modify pictures so that they will be accepted. I can just turn a computer on and off successfully. :)
    The tang reads JOSEPH RODGERS & AND SONS
    CUTLERS TO THEIR MAJESTIES
    No6 NORFOLK STREET
    SHEFFIELD
    The box is constructed of dark red walnut perhaps. 10"x6.5"x4" tall, of the highest quality. Brass round corners, a simple old school hollow key lock.
    I suspect the box was made separate from the razors, but the box tray was designed and fitted for a pair of razors, along with the unmarked boot jacks, along with three other small compartments, one which has an original "star safety razor", colorful tin box, maybe 1.5 x2.5 inches.
    The bottom compartment has what I believe is a gizmo to sharpen single edge blades A three pronged looking chingaso, it as well is marked "Star Safety Razor"
    If some fine gent here, can train me how to upload the correct picture address, I will be pleased to attempt again, the feat of uploading pictures.
    A million thanks, Ron

Karl G and DaltonGang like this.
  2. PLANofMAN

PLANofMAN Eccentric Razor Collector Staff Member

Moderator Article Team
  3. PLANofMAN

Moderator Article Team
    You most likely need to decrease your picture file size to under 1mb.

4. RgR