Help! Which vintage Gillette to get?

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Lord Gillette, Oct 13, 2018.

1. Lord Gillette

Lord Gillette Active Member

:bounce015:I'm pretty new to this and I'm using a Gillette flare tip 60s.

Which open comb is good to get? And what's the difference between old type and new?

And are all the TTO like ranger tech and super speed very similar?

Thanks.

RyX likes this.
  2. jmudrick

jmudrick Type A Man

A lot of questions here. I would advise a visit to Mr .Razor Gillette site for a better introduction to the Gillette range.

Old Type is a particular range with a common curved baseplate and posts securing the blade. "new" is not a thing, but the Gillette New Improved and Gillette New were distinct ranges, the latter introducing slots as an additional means of blade alignment, and baseplate corner recesses with fitting cap to both secure and protect the corners. The basic design of the Long Comb was carried over into the Tech and various TTO models with a safety bar after 1939.

I can't tell you which open comb is "good to get". They all have their fans.

No the Ranger Tech is much more aggressive than your Flare Tip.

Last edited: Oct 14, 2018
  3. wristwatchb

wristwatchb wristwatch "danger" b

jtspartan, Norcalnewb and RyX like this.
  4. Lord Gillette

Ranger tech is more aggressive than the flare tip? Now I'm interested. :D How is the ranger against the red tip then?

RyX likes this.
  5. Lord Gillette

RyX and wristwatchb like this.
  6. gorgo2

gorgo2 geezerhood

NEW. Long or short comb. Relatively plentiful and cheap, and very efficient.

Dansco, brit and RyX like this.
  7. Lord Gillette

is the chronology of Gillette open combs something like this?

old type > new > new improved.

8. jmudrick

jmudrick Type A Man