How Important is Preshave oil?

Discussion in 'Preshave and Aftershave' started by Flanigan, Feb 11, 2016.

1. Flanigan

Flanigan Member

Im new to wetshaving, and I am wondering how beneficial it is to use preshave oil, before I bother buying some and adding another step to my process...

Spyder and Robyflexx like this.
  2. Slipperyjoe

Slipperyjoe Rusty Metal Tetanus

Opinions on this topic vary all the way from doing magical things to the shave to the stuff is useless and it wrecks the lather. I personally don't think the oil does much for me. Short answer is you're going to need to find out for yourself to really know for certain if the oil is right for you. Best thing to do when your experimenting with any new component is to keep all the other variables as constant as possible while the test is going on. Happy shaving..:)

DesertTime, Flanigan and Spyder like this.
  3. gregkw1

gregkw1 Well-Known Member

Me personally when I bloom my soap I use that soapy water as a pre shave

Col C, Flanigan, Spyder and 1 other person like this.
  4. Double Edge Dougy

Double Edge Dougy Well-Known Member

I dont think its something you need to rush to buy/try....i didnt try it for a long time. I like it but use it really only when me whiskers start getting long and when i shave the mustache...i often have a goatee so the stach isnt always shaved....its also the only area that i feel a slight sensitive, and i find the oil helps. I think you should try it if when you come across it or find a good deal

Flanigan, Slipperyjoe and Spyder like this.
  5. PLANofMAN

PLANofMAN Eccentric Razor Collector Staff Member

Moderator Article Team
    Pre-shave oil isn't important, in my opinion. Far more crucial, and less talked about, is getting water on your face before the lather goes on, and again before each new shaving pass.

That is where the 'wet' in wet shaving comes from.