How long will a cordless hair clipper last before it dies?

Discussion in 'The Chatterbox' started by venom0706, Feb 28, 2021.

1. venom0706

venom0706 Guest

I want to buy a cordless hair clipper (simply because the blade type I am looking for is present only on cordless clippers). The clipper will be high cost/high quality professional model.

I currently live abroad and will be carrying it to my home country (no option to buy such clipper back there), in case i ever go back to live there. So it might be sitting in a drawer for years before its first use.

Therefore comes the question - how long can the clipper last, considering the above and the fact that the battery will lose charge over time? I am also not a professional and don't plan on every replacing the battery or the blades (anxious about ruining the clipper).

Worst case - if the battery has completely lost charge before it's first use - can I use with the corded cable provided?

Thank you.

2. feeltheburn

feeltheburn Well-Known Member

I would imagine most cordless clippers these days would have a lithium ion battery. If stored correctly, those batteries can actually last a really long time and hold a charge well. You want to store it around 60% charged, which might be difficult to determine but a little less than completely full will probably work. I have no idea if a set of clippers will drain a battery slowly but I don't know why they would. If they don't you could probably store the clippers for at least a year without the charge going down much. You do want to make sure the charge doesn't get too low. That will shorten the life of the battery.

On using with a cord, you'll have to check the directions. That may or may not work. It just depends on the design.

venom0706 likes this.
  3. Badgerstate

Badgerstate Well-Known Member