I feel cheated

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by Bernal Murillo, Jul 23, 2021.

1. Bernal Murillo

Bernal Murillo New Member

I grew up in a middle-low family in a third world country, and when I started shaving I shared the disposable Gillette with my dad, we used to use them a whole week and then get a new one, I always got rashes in my face.

When I was 17 my great-uncle bought a raffle ticket from me and won, I was in charge of taking the price to him (a goods basket where I spotted an aluminum handle Gillette's Mach3) and in the way, against all my values I stole the Mach3 and told my mom and dad my great-uncle gave it to me. I had no way to buy refills, so I used those MFs for months !!!! rashes were common for me by then, every now and then I was able to get a new refill (I even tried to steal one in a super market once :sad023: ).

I graduated college. Now, with a good salary I started getting the refills and using them only once ... but the rashes were still a thing. I tried everything, machines, different reusable/disposable brands and nothing worked ... I resolved to use a beard (which was good, women liked it, but not all of them), and shave every 2 months to keep it from making me look homeless.

At 35 I got a security razor, just to try ... and I liked it, rashes went down by a lot, and those refills are reaaaaally cheap, but somehow I didn't like the feeling, I had to trim my beard down first, and hair sticks in there easily ... but so far, was the best option.

Im 40 now, and TODAY I tried a shavette for the first time in my life !!! WHY NO ONE TOLD ME ABOUT THIS BEFORE?????????? how is it possible that as a society we went from straight razors to something else???? (I mean, I understand shavettes, not everyone is able to sharpen properly) but it makes NO SENSE, ONE PASS and was DONE (a few cuts, but it was my first try give me a break).