I need a blade suggestion, please...

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Tommy_C, Oct 8, 2008.

1. Tommy_C

Tommy_C New Member

Hey everyone,

I am brand new to this type of shaving. I received my first razor in the mail, today, and had my first attempt at shaving with a double-edged safety razor. It didn't go all that well.

That could have been for several reasons. First, I do believe my lather was too watery. Second, I might have been using too much pressure (even though I tried not to) due to my many years of shaving with cartridges. Finally, it has been suggested that my blades may be to blame, too.

I used Merkur blades which, I now come to understand, are not well regarded.

So my question/plea is this... I have a late 1940's era Gillette Super Speed. What blades can anyone recommend for this type of razor?

Thanks so much,

Tom

2. JayKay

JayKay 3000 posts and all I got was this lousy title

My personal favorites are Gillette 7 o clock (yellow pack), Astra (green pack) and Irridium Supers. They are all sharp and smooth. You should buy a sample pack and make your way through all the different brands. Check razorandbrush.com, they have great sample packs. I would also suggest picking one blade and sticking with it untill you have your techinque down so you can pinpoint any problems without making the blade another one.

3. scottydoint

scottydoint Member

I agree with these as the best blade with the exception of I like the Green pack 7 O'clocks. I would be willing to be that you used to much pressure. Think negative pressure.

4. JayKay

Hold the razor at the end between your thumb and pointer finger. Just drag it down your face. Thats all the pressure you need.

5. Tommy_C

Tommy_C New Member

Thanks, guys.

I'll look into ordering a sampler of the blades you recommended. As an aside, I wonder what the difference is between the yellow and green pack razors?

6. JayKay