Inexpensive honing set ($55)... Not lapping film

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by 1976MGB, Jan 27, 2017.

1. 1976MGB

1976MGB Active Member

So I wanted to hone my own Razors, but didn't want to spend a fortune on stones. I did a bunch of research, looked into lapping films, Norton 4k/8k etc... I have a couple razors that need to be honed, bit didn't want to send 3 or 4 out at the cost of $60. I've bought a couple vintage shave ready razors, because it's only a couple bucks more than a honing.

What I purchased was a King 1k/5k ( Amazon $26 ) and a Chinese natutal ( woodcraft $25.75 )

I grabbed a razor, BTW I'm new to sharpening Razors, and gave it a whirl. I followed a lot of Lynn Abrams and a few others techniques along the way. Set the bevel, and proceeded through the progression. Finished with 10 laps chromium oxide on linen, and 70 laps leather

Final Result: Passed HHT, AND gave a great shave. I'm no expert, and it was fun.. However, I will still get a couple razors professionally honed as this is just something I was doing for the fun of it.

Anyone looking to get started, under $55 and good results

Last edited: Jan 27, 2017
    Waate, Drygulch, Karl G and 2 others like this.
  2. Linuxguile

Linuxguile dating an unusual aristocrat

Nice to know, how much time did your spend on the C12k after moving up from the 5k ?

Karl G and Billyfergie like this.
  3. 1976MGB

1976MGB Active Member

I did a pyramid method from one of Lynn's posts, only I used the 5k/12k... Then finished with 15 X strokes on the 12k.... This was the pyramid ( substituted 5k/12k where he used 4k/8k)

...25 Strokes on 5K 25 Strokes on 12K 20 Strokes on 5K 20 Strokes on 12K 15 Strokes on 5K 15 Strokes on 12K 10 Strokes on 5K 10 strokes on 12K 5 Strokes on 5K 5 Strokes on 12K 3 Strokes on 5K 3 Strokes on 12K 1 Stroke on 5K 3 Strokes on 12K 1 Stroke on 5K 5 Strokes on 12K...

Karl G, Linuxguile and Billyfergie like this.
  4. DaltonGang

DaltonGang Ol' Itchy Whiskers