Is there a soap for oily skin?

Discussion in 'Shave Soaps' started by grump, Jun 17, 2009.

1. grump

grump Well-Known Member

Hello,
    As a relative newbie, I was wondering if there was a soap formulated for oily skin?

Thank you
    Phil

2. NoobShaver

NoobShaver BGDAAA

I don't know of any shave soaps especially formulated for oily skin. you might try Williams, see how that works.

3. Teiste

Teiste New Member

the same answer that for shaving creams:tea tree oil and clay.

4. boyextraordinare

boyextraordinare New Member

No - so I highly recommend you wash your face with soap (not facial cleanser) and water prior to shaving, if you don't do so already.

Splash AS should be of assistance after...

5. soapbuddy

soapbuddy Mistress of Lather

I agree. Also handmade soap with neem oil should help, but the scent gets some getting used to.

6. boyextraordinare

Honestly, the way to control oil is removing it via soap (and traditional splash AS you're a shaver).

That stripping the skin of its natural oils cues your body to pump out more sebum is an absolute myth, which can be proven by simply overcleansing your face.

Soap and water, man!

7. Queen of Blades

Queen of Blades Mistress of Mischief Staff Member

Moderator Supporting Vendor
    Got proof?

I've stopped using soap on my face, and now have less outbreaks.

Check out the Oil Cleansing Method, Phil. It works.

8. boyextraordinare

Yes. Wash your face with soap and water over and over and over again and see how oily it is then...

9. ChemErik

ChemErik Mr. Personality

Another thing to think about with oily skin is using alum as an aftershave. I also have oily skin and find it to be the only thing that keeps my skin a little drier over time. I really don't think the soap makes a big difference. In fact, I really fond a Mitchell's Wool Fat (MWF) which is known to be very moisturizing compared to most soaps.

10. grump

grump Well-Known Member

Thank you for all of your replies.