Just joined. Have an old razor, but looking at others.

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by Briezh, Sep 3, 2018.

1. Briezh

Briezh New Member

Hello all,

My name is Mike, I live in Bretagne, North Western France. I have recently started to use a 'proper' razor bought new but have since been looking at older better quality razors. There are hundreds for sale here in France for small euros prices. I bought one 2 months ago which I have used and is comfortable and stays very, very sharp. I was told by a French neighbour that it is a particularly rare model and could be valuable. I'll try and put a couple of photos on here to see if anyone recognises it and knows where it is from and how old.

I noticed in the forums before joining that many members love the old French razors, but as a complete novice I wouldn't really know a good one from a bad one until I tried to use it. What are the brands I should be looking for?

The one I have now is from a company name B&S that has a trademark called football, I think its the trademark anyway. See the photos if I can load them.

All advice and help gratefully received.

Cheers mates, Mike. (Briezh) DSC01863.JPG DSC01871.JPG DSC01870.JPG DSC01863.JPG

Attached Files:

MR41, Keithmax, AGHisBBS and 6 others like this.
  2. Mr. Oldschool

Mr. Oldschool Johnny Dangerously

Welcome to the Den! Looks like a cool razor you have there. Unfortunately, I'm not familiar with the brand. Good luck with getting answers to your questions, and have a great journey in the world of wet shaving!

3. Zykris

Zykris Well-Known Member

Welcome!

4. TestDepth

TestDepth Well-Known Member

Welcome Mike!
    I think what you have is a German blade from Bontgen & Sabin. Walter Bontgen and Louis Sabin founded the company in the 1870's and they looked to have made cutlery, razor and other "sharp things" for quite a while. I think the company existed through 1983 when the Bonsa name was bought by Robert Klaas.