Looking for brush

Discussion in 'The Brush' started by shavingisfun, Jan 28, 2022.

1. shavingisfun

shavingisfun New Member

Hi everyone i am very new to wet shaving all the help would be really appreciated.

I am looking to buy a silvertip badger shaving brush. good for face or bowl lather

feel soft to face and good backbone

price range is between $250-$350

Ijustmissedthe50s likes this.
  2. stingraysrock

stingraysrock PIF'd away his custom title

My go-to is Shavemac. High quality. Mine has yet to lose a hair after many years of exclusive use.

3. shavingisfun

shavingisfun New Member

I am was looking into shavemac but was confuse which one would work for what i am looking for which one do you have

Ijustmissedthe50s and Smudge like this.
  4. PanChango

PanChango Not Cute

Brushes are a personal thing and it takes a while to figure out what you like. I would suggest trying a few different kinds and sizes to figure out what works for you. Tastes also change over time.

A 20mm to 24mm knot will do what you need. I preferred a finest knot over silvertip as it had more backbone than a silvertip, but was still had nice tips. Brushes range from tiny to gigantic. A tiny brush works, but you would commonly have to go back to the puck. A big brush (28+ mm) is very luxurious, but will rip through soap.

I have a wood handle 22mm version of this brush and highly recommend it. Their mixed knot badger/boar knot has been my daily driver for the last 8 years.
    https://vintagescent.com/product/torga-c5-finest-mixture-jet-black/

That is a finest brush, but they also have silver tip knots in different handles as well. Semogue makes a nice brush.

Ijustmissedthe50s and kfbrady like this.
  5. stingraysrock

stingraysrock PIF'd away his custom title

Dale is correct, brushes are a personal thing, and you will get many differing opinions on what hair, loft, diameter, etc that is best.