Looking to upgrade

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by SBlongneck, Sep 27, 2021.

1. SBlongneck

SBlongneck New Member

Just looking for some info on upgrading my current gear. I've been wet shaving now for just over 2 years. I had no idea how much I would enjoy doing it, nor the satisfaction after a great shave x2. I don't know any friends who do this, and it was all self taught. I'm still using my first safety razor which is something "sword" just from the drugstore. My preshave is the poraso as is my soap. My question is....can I get some suggestions for a decent upgrade? Or somewhere to at least start looking? Ive tried alot of blades, and my favorite is the featherlights, but open to explore if anyone has suggestions. I'm ok with spending a few extra bucks for gear, as I really enjoy the whole process in my routine, and know it'll be used every other day. Thanks in advance, and I'm glad I came across this site, as I thought I was the only one who really enjoyed a good shave...lol....

Scott

battle.munky and Jorvaljr like this.
  2. Eeyore

Eeyore Well-Known Member

Th razor I keep coming back to is the Fatip Wood open comb DE. I have tried much more expensive razors but this is my number one.

3. SBlongneck

SBlongneck New Member

Right on, I appreciate the info. I'll have a peek. Thanks.

4. battle.munky

battle.munky Has the menthol.munky on his back!

I really like the Mergress if you are looking for new/modern. I also really appreciate the 40s Super Speeds from Gillette if you are aiming for vintage.

LaneP and Herm2502 like this.
  5. gorgo2

gorgo2 geezerhood

Hello. Start cheap...original Gillette Super Speeds are abundant and pretty cheap if you look around eBay. Begin with that and work your way upward and outward, or stay with it if you're satisfied. Lots of guys are.

battle.munky likes this.
  6. Chappy_Stan

Chappy_Stan Well-Known Member