Moss Scuttle

Discussion in 'General Shaving Talk' started by IsaacRN, Jul 8, 2007.

1. IsaacRN

IsaacRN Active Member

Well...

Today was my first shave with a Moss Scuttle. I just want to start of by saying im a noob when it comes down to wet shaving, but i went out and bought the best because I wanted to be spoiled. I was a bit pesimistic on the scuttle, but so many people had them that i figured why not.

I ordered a large one, and when i took it out of the box i though...OMG...this thing is huge. Also ordered an Ayars bowl to work up my lathers. Well today was the day. I took the bowl and scuttle and and let them sit in hot water. After the shave, i went to business and created my lather. I put my first lather on my face and the brush went to the scuttle.

Boy was I suprised that on 2nd and 3rd passes, i had nice warm lather. It was such a nice feeling on just shaved skin too. That nice warm pass of lather just made me think...This was a good purchase. Three passes total and my only problem was a little breakdown on the 3rd lathering session.

All in all.......DO IT!! If you have ever wondered about any type of scuttle, DO IT. Its just another nice little luxury to add to a relaxating shave.

Cheers,
    Isaac

2. hyperwarp

hyperwarp New Member

The Plunge

was thinking about getting a Mossie myself. Am using a SR 3118 badger beater & not sure if a large or small would be more appropriate size wise.

Do you have the dimensions on the Ayars bowl? Does the bowl have a few bumps or other design elements to help work oup the lather (as opposed to a totally smooth ceramic type surface)?

What did everything run you, including the freight down from :droolCanuckistan:drool?

Thanks

3. IsaacRN

IsaacRN Active Member

Demensions of the bowl....hmmm....i have no ruler so ill use a guesstimation. Its about 4-5 Inches in workable diameter. Sits at about 2-3 inch in depth. It has like a sea shell cirular groove in the bottom of the bowl that aids in lather production.