My First shave with a Slim at #9

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by preidy, Jan 5, 2016.

1. preidy

preidy Just call me Dino

I first started using my Slim at #5 but have been working my way up the scale. Since I've mastered (I no longer bleed) the R41 I thought I'd try my Slim at #9 today - Super Iridium. What a great close 3 + pass (my normal) shave. As good as the 41 but a bit smoother. I love the 41 and the aggressive blade feeling I get but I'm pleasantly surprised how much less aggressive the Slim felt. From now on my Slim will be locked on #9.

2. Skinny Rogers

Skinny Rogers Well-Known Member

I agree with this. I too use a slim on 9 and it's by far (to me at least) the best shave setting. A marvelous representation of vintage adjustable. Even tho I don't use mine too often I can't think of not owning one. I'm glad 9 works for u as well!

AGHisBBS, twhite and Primotenore like this.
  3. Jay S

Jay S Active Member

I've been using my Slim for a couple of months now and only using a DE since June. I started on 3 and I'm currently using a 6 with multiple blades as I'm still working through my samples and haven't found THE blade for me. So far...AstraSP, Feather, GSB, and a few others I can't remember right now. Today I tried a Wilkinson Sword for the first time after about 6 days of not shaving...another wonderful shave with the Slim at 6 and THE FAT on my face!

I'm still enjoying the ride...

Jay

AGHisBBS likes this.
  4. AGHisBBS

AGHisBBS Well-Known Member

I love my Slim! Like @Skinny Rogers I don't use it all the time, but I find it to be a highly valued member of my collection. I usually shave with it on 4 for my cheeks and then shift to 9 for my throat.

5. Jayaruh

Jayaruh The Cackalacky House Pet

Supporting Vendor
    I have tried 9, but I have settled on 6. :)

AGHisBBS likes this.
  6. Red Rider

Red Rider Well-Known Member