My Shave Evolution

Discussion in 'General Shaving Talk' started by voice940, Dec 27, 2010.

1. voice940

voice940 Member

Hope this is in the right section... I'm still learning the layout :ashamed001

When I was in high school and just starting to shave, I started out with a Norelco electric - which seemed to be perfect at the time... I wanted a quick shave that was "good enough" for a lazy teenager.

Then by the time I was a high school senior (grade 12) I wanted a better shave, so I went with the multi-blade disposables. The shave WAS better, and I enjoyed the routine. (I didn't know that DE's even existed anywhere but antique stores, and certainly didn't think about using one for myself)

Then my lazy side to hold once again after I had my son a little over a year ago, and I started using the Norelco again, just because I didn't have time to shave regularly - and the disposables tugged and pulled at my face, which I wasn't about to put myself through if I didn't have to.

Then I was on a totally unrelated website dedicated to the "art of manliness" and it talked about a resurgence in the use of safety blades.

I got online and purchased that Merkur Hefty Classic (as I mentioned in the "introduction post") as well as some good shave soap and got back into the routine. Of course I got to enjoy a better shave than anything I had ever given myself, but really - I think it's the routine that I enjoy as much as anything... from prep leading up to the shave and enjoying the smoothness afterward.

Now, I don't know if I could call that going full circle - as I've taken a scenic detour - but I'm certainly glad my personal shaving evolution took me in this direction.

2. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

Cool story. Thanks!

Glad to hear your shaves are enjoyable.

(maybe posted in the GENERAL forum :confused:
    "General (19 Viewing)
    Wanna talk about something shaving related that doesn't seem to fit anywhere else?")