[N00B-post]Gramps giving me a Gillette safety razor.

Discussion in 'Welcome Center' started by Issac, Feb 17, 2012.

1. Issac

Issac Member

Heya folks sorry if this is in the wrong place.

Being in my college years my beard is starting to come in a lot faster, and suddenly it hit me how expensive this junk is 20 bucks for 4 cartridges that only last me 2-3 shaves each? So after some google-fu I discovered loads of people talking about the close shave and cheap cost of blade refills that you get with an old-timey safety razor.

So I asked my gramps and it turns out he found a "gold Gillette saftey razor" that says "made in the U.S.A." I'm not much of an expert but could this be an Aristocrat or something from the 40s? I'll be picking it up in a few days.

Anyway I was wondering if you guys had any tips about safety razors or experience with old Gillettes. Am I going to have a rough time finding the appropriate refills?

I'm pretty new at this so I'd appreciate any advice you have to offer.

[update]
    (Used my laptop to take this I can't really manage anything better right now.)
    From top to bottom:
    Schick Quattro with broken razor... clipping..... mechanism.
    1971 Gillette "Black Beauty" Super Adjustable
    40's Gillette Tech Gold plated Ball-end

Blades left to right:
    "DOCTOR'S double edge blades guaranteed satisfaction"
    Gillette Super Blue Blades (the tin is half empty but it's still nice to look at)
    "OLD HICKORY double edge blades"
    [​IMG]

2. thinklikeh20

thinklikeh20 Active Member

Welcome to TSD:signs046: I am new here as well but should be able to answer some basics.

Im pretty sure the Aristocrat is a Dual Edge razor that you should have no problem finding blades for!
    Also know you will need a brush and some soap or cream. I highly suggest looking around (the sticky in the Shave School forum) and looking up mantic59 youtube videos as they are a great place to start with learning how to use your new razor.