New razor bad shave

Discussion in 'Welcome Center' started by Robert Shettles, Dec 17, 2018.

1. Robert Shettles

Robert Shettles New Member

So im pretty new to straight razor shaving my face. I have been shaking with a shavette that I got from Sally's beauty supply and I beat a really nice shade out of it. Recently I got a Dovo full hollow 5/8 straight razor, along with dinne col conk bay rum shave some and a strop for Christmas. I stropped the blade several times but it still hurts to shave with. They said they had it honed at the online store. What am I doing wrong.

2. Briscoe

Briscoe Well-Known Member

Did you hone it or have it professionally honed? If not, that's your main problem. Buying a shave ready razor doesn't necessarily mean its ready to use.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

Keithmax, brit and PLANofMAN like this.
  3. brit

brit in a box

hello and welcome..

Robert Shettles likes this.
  4. Newcreature

Newcreature Member

Also watch your Angle it is different with a straight than a shavette,

Robert Shettles and brit like this.
  5. PLANofMAN

PLANofMAN Eccentric Razor Collector Staff Member

Moderator Article Team
    As Briscoe said, "shave ready" dovo razors seldom are actually shave ready. Even premium brands like Thiers Issard don't come shave ready.

Unless you are experienced at honing, it's best to send your razor to an experienced honer like @gssixgun (depending on where you live). Most countries have at least one forum recommended honer.

Art of Shaving stores routinely sell "shave ready" Dovo razors that are NOT shave ready. I'm not saying Dovo makes a bad razor, quite the contrary, they make a good razor.

Edit: even if it was honed at the store, the honer's skill or lack thereof makes a difference. What is shave ready for one person isn't necessarily shave ready for another. Hollow ground razors feel rough to me, no matter how well honed. Wedge blades are far more comfortable to use for my skin and beard type.