New SR, Shave ready?

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by Thatdonkey, Jan 7, 2014.

1. Thatdonkey

Thatdonkey Member

So I received my birthday present last night, a Dovo /Col. Conk 5/8 round tip. I found this particular package deal on Shave Nation and instructed the Wife that this would be a perfect gift, and I guess she paid attention. I was pretty excited to say the least when it arrived. I got up this morning with anticipation stropped the blade 30 or so times on both sides of the strop and prepared my face for my first true SR shave.

First stroke was pretty uncomfortable, lots of pulling and tugging. I experimented with a few other stroke to see if it was my angle to no avail. Admittedly, I am a complete noob so its quite possible I stropped improperly but from what I can tell the stroke felt smooth and was done with minimal pressure. Plus I managed not to nick or cut the strop so that's a plus.

My question is could this mean it needs to be put on a stone already? I was under the impression these razors came "shave ready" maybe not though. The package came with a Col. Conk paddle hone but to be quite honest, I sure don't want to ruin my own blade within days of receiving it.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated. And thanks in advance

2. Williams Warrior

Williams Warrior Well-Known Member

Are Shave Nations razors advertised as shave ready? I'm asking because if they aren't then they won't be and will need to be honed.

3. Thatdonkey

Thatdonkey Member

Now that you mention it, I may have heard him say that on one of his youtube video tutorials where he promotes his business. I guess I need to go back and take a closer look. Suppose if it's not in writing it is what is. I suppose the safest thing for me to do would be to send it to get honed? I doubt anyone would suggest to try that on my own.

4. Nolan1982

Nolan1982 Member

nice Hedberg quote!

Thatdonkey likes this.
  5. Queen of Blades

Queen of Blades Mistress of Mischief Staff Member