New to safety Razors

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Ben Keller, Feb 10, 2023.

1. Ben Keller

Ben Keller Member

Hello I just purchased a King C Gillette safety razor that I found on clearance for about half the price. I shaved for the first-time last night and really liked it!!! I am curious about blades for it. It came with 5 but im wondering what to purchase when those are used up?? Like I said I'm new to using one of these razors and don't want to buy a bunch of blades that i don't like.

2. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

It can't be helped. You're going to buy blades you don't like. Why?
    Because there are blades out there I like that others can't stand. There are blades out there that others like that I don't.
    Who ya gonna believe when they tell you blade X is great or blade Y sucks? Me or them?
    You gotta try 'em and let your face give you the final answer.
    But the experimenting is part of the fun!

3. Herm2502

Herm2502 off to elf practice

Welcome! You have started down a journey to a really enjoyable way to shave. I find the Gillette a decent, mild razor.

It's tough to suggest a particular blade. Each person has their own preference.

I suggest you purchase a multi-pack of different blades. Many vendors online, such as Maggard Razors, has them. Or you can go to Try-A-Blade online to pick a few blades.

Blade packs are cheap so pick some and try them out. Have fun with it.

4. Ben Keller

Ben Keller Member

Thanks guys I'm going to find a variety pack and try some!!

Herm2502 and ewk like this.
  5. Enrico

Enrico Popcorn

As I will agree with my friends that it really personal preference , Though I would suggest a few blades that have served many here.

Nacet
    Polsilver
    Astra
    Gillette Silver Blue
    Gillette 7 O'Clock Green

Happy shaves to you.

:eatdrink047:

6. ewk

ewk Well-Known Member