New Wet Shaver From Sacramento, CA!

Discussion in 'Welcome Center' started by TomAllyn, Jun 12, 2018.

1. TomAllyn

TomAllyn Active Member

I'm brand new to wet shaving! I wet shaved for the first time this past Sunday at 55-years-old so I've only wet shaved 3 times so far. I wish I still had a double-edged razor I found in my dad's things many years ago. I've recently purchased 3 safety razors and one I returned to Nordstroms because I discovered it was an overpriced knockoff. The second one I purchased was used Gillette Super Speed and the third was a Ming Shi 2000s (See I don't mind knockoffs as long as they are not overpriced. LOL

I decided to start my wet shave journey using the Ming Shi 2000s armed with a Voskhod blade as I was more confident starting with an adjustable at the mildest setting. I'm also using Mitchell's Wool Fat Soap w/ a Semogue Owners Club Boar Bristle Shaving Brush, Dickenson's Witch Hazel, and Captain's Choice North Aftershave Lotion.

The first day I got a couple tiny weepers that cold water and Witch Hazel took care of and the last two I've had even better shaves without a single weeper. I've decided to stick to using these specific items and settings for at least 1 month and then possibly trying the Captains Choice North Shaving Soap I also have and possibly a more aggressive setting on the Ming Shi 2000s and/or another blade. I will, of course, change blades during all of this time when the current blade starts to tug a bit - I have several of the Voskhod blades to keep me covered for the first month and I have several other blades to try after that.

So anyway I'm new and I hope that this wasn't an overwhelming or underwhelming first post!

~Tom

Last edited: Jun 12, 2018
    RyX, 178-bplatoon, MR41 and 8 others like this.
  2. jimjo1031

jimjo1031 never bloomed myself

Welcome to the Den.

3. Primotenore

Primotenore missed opera tunity

Article Team
    Welcome to TSD @TomAllyn you sound like you have a good game plan.