Newbie to Safety Razors - Advice Needed

Discussion in 'Welcome Center' started by adcha1, Mar 1, 2012.

1. adcha1

adcha1 New Member

Hello all

I am keen to start using safety razors but have no idea which one to get and what blades to use.

I intend to use them on a daily basis and have them for the long run.

My bugdet for the razor and blades would be no more than $150.

I have been reading a lot but there is so much information out there that I can't decide.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks
    Ash

2. Sara-s

Sara-s This Pun for Hire

I am not an expert on the razors; there are so many out there. If there is a store you can go to, and actually handle them, before buying, that would be good. People like different things, in terms of weight, length & diameter of the handle, ect. As for blades, there is no one best brand for everyone. It is a good idea to order a sample pack of various brands.

3. GDCarrington

GDCarrington Burma Shave

You can buy a sampler. It is the best way to determine what blade is good for you. Start with a small sampler pack with no more than three blades per brand/class.

Here is probably the best dollar for dollar sampler out.

http://theshavedenshop.com/index.php?_a=product&product_id=213

It has 3 of each brand so you don't get stuck with what you don't like.

Good fortune.

DLP likes this.
  4. Sodapopjones

Sodapopjones Well-Known Member

Well there are tons of things you can try and do, but I always recommend Edwin Jagger razors, the DE89,87,86 feature the same head and are probably among the most solid and well built you will find in that and higher price ranges.

As for blades, a sampler would work well, and there are many different ones to try.

This would be my DE86.

d.jpg

5. lindyhopper66

lindyhopper66 Well-Known Member