Now what do I do?

Discussion in 'General Shaving Talk' started by hrairy, Dec 15, 2015.

1. hrairy

hrairy Well-Known Member

I'm new to this whole thing. I remember watching my dad shave with a safety razor years ago. I want to start using a safety razor and I have no idea where to start. I do have a full beard, however my cheeks and neck require shaving to keep it neat. So I don't do a lot of shaving daily. How do I know which razor to get? I'm not up to paying a fortune for a razor, but I don't want to get a piece of junk either.
    Do I go new or vintage?
    What are the best blades?
    See, I'm full of questions and don't know who to ask. Someone point a dumb newbie in the right direction please.

2. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

Go grab some munchies, a favorite beverage, pull up a comfy chair and click this ---> *click*

3. hrairy

hrairy Well-Known Member

Cool!! Lots of stuff there. Thanks.

Joef and Robyflexx like this.
  4. Drygulch

Drygulch Snowballs

I had so much fun with wet shaving that I got rid of the beard in my avatar. There are a lot of options. I started with a razor, one type of blades, soap and a brush. It kind of went crazy from there.

Douglas Carey, txskimo and Robyflexx like this.
  5. hrairy

hrairy Well-Known Member

I have a tendency to go overboard when I do something. Years ago I saw an old Singer Sewing machine. I can't sew but I liked the way it looked. By the time I came to my senses, I had 27 old sewing machines dating as far back as 1897. I hope I can restrain myself with razors.

John Beeman, Spyder, BamaT and 6 others like this.
  6. swarden43

Nope. Don't see it hap'nin' :D not with razors, brushes, blades, soaps, creams, aftershaves, colognes... :happy102:

RyX, BamaT, youngunn and 7 others like this.
  7. swarden43

Oh, yeah... lather mugs, shaving scuttles, display racks...

8. gwsmallwood

gwsmallwood Well-Known Member

That link is great, but if you want a shortcut...