(Photos below) Bismarck Straight Edge Identification HELP!

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by lycidas, Jan 27, 2011.

1. lycidas

lycidas Member

Seeking a little assistance in identifying... I'm new to the collection hobby so I haven't found the resources yet to solve this myself. I have an old SR I found from my grandparent's house. Can anyone help me identify the year? origin? any other information?

It has Dark (black or dirt?) scales with "BISMARCK registered" inlay on the side.
    The point is straight cut (not rounded)
    On the blade in fancy letters it says, "SWEDISH STEEL hollow ground"
    The trademark on the tang says, "WING Cutlery Co. Germany" and also, almost hidden by the scales it is stamped "208"

Any info would be great... or direction on where I should look. Is this thing 10 or 60 years old? :)

And I will put up a photo if I can figure out how.

cheers

2. stingraysrock

stingraysrock PIF'd away his custom title

I know nothing...

3. Queen of Blades

Queen of Blades Mistress of Mischief Staff Member

Moderator Supporting Vendor
    There are a couple methods.

1) Attachment
    The little paperclip icon, click it
    In the window that pop-ups, click Browse
    Find the pic on your computer, click on it
    Then click Upload
    Then click the paperclip again
    Click the attachment name and it will show up in the post.

Goodness I hope that is clear. :o

4. Lynn

Lynn New Member

A picture would definitely make a world of difference. There were hundreds of shops in Solingen in the past and many razors made for hardware types of companies that distributed them.

I suspect that the razor you have has been re-handled. Most of the Bismarck Registered razors I have seen are round pointed and just under 5/8. The also have numbers stamped at the end of the tang (tail). These did come in Black and Ivory colored plastic scales.

Have fun,

Lynn

5. lycidas

lycidas Member

OK. I found the pics.