Pre de Provence help

Discussion in 'Shave Soaps' started by Rev579, Jan 2, 2018.

1. Rev579

Rev579 Well-Known Member

I am relatively new to shaving with a puck and/or cream. As I am still finding a good sweet-spot for the cream, I am failing, I believe, when it comes to hard soap. I am committed to PDP No. 63 because I really enjoy the scent and Mrs. Rev579 does too.
    I am looking for insight and/or tips for this extremely well-milled shaving soap.

2. John Beeman

John Beeman Little chicken in hot water

Welcome to the den.

I have hard water so some soaps and creams just don’t work well for me.

Short of installing a softener or using distilled water from a jug, I’ve learned (through trial and error) which products work best for me.

Sometimes it can help to put some water on the top of the puck and let it soak for awhile (like while you’re taking your shower).

Rev579 likes this.
  3. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

Tip - take all the tips and try all the tips. Some, all, or none may work. Here's why

Their brush may be a different size
    Their brush may be a different material
    They may be basing their results on a different soap, never having tried your soap
    Their water may be harder
    Their water may be softer.
    Their idea of a damp brush may be different than yours
    They may apply more brush pressure on their puck
    They may apply less brush pressure on their puck
    Their idea of "a few swirls" may be different than yours
    Their idea of "a few seconds" may be different than yours
    Some may say you need to soak your puck
    Some may say soaking your puck is a waste of time

When ever someone says to swirl for six seconds or make eight swirls with the brush, try it, but as I said, you may not get the same results.
    You have to experiment with what YOU have; learn how to use the tools YOU have.
    Have fun, but always remember - It's your shave. Enjoy it your way.

Zykris and Rev579 like this.