Razor Hand-Me-Downs

Discussion in 'Safety Razors' started by Brian H., Jul 12, 2014.

1. Brian H.

Brian H. Member

Hey all, I knew my folks had a couple old DE razors at the house, was curious about them, so I had mom send them to me. In the picture is what I got. They're both old Gillettes; one adjustable, one not, both twist open. I would like some help identifying what they are since I'm new to this DE thing and these are my first vintage razors. Will the patent #'s help me figure out what they are? The adjustable and brush were my mom's dad's and the regular was my dad's. I'm thinking the adjustable is really old. Also, what's the best way to clean these up and sterilize them for use. I'm still really digging my Merkur 180(and haven't finished the 30 day rule yet), so I don't know when I'll mess with these. Thanks!
    shave.jpg

SRNewb, Boojum1, Tattoobob and 3 others like this.
  2. gorgo2

gorgo2 geezerhood

Hello and Welcome Aboard,

What you have there is a Gillette "Slim" (what we call it) adjustable, and what looks like a 1950s-1960s middle of the road Super Speed. The letter-number combo on the bottom of each is Gillette's date code that will tell you the year and the quarter each was produced. The brush I can tell you nothing about.

GDCarrington and Brian H. like this.
  3. fram773

fram773 Well-Known Member

Sterilize/clean- scrubbing bubbles.

4. BigMark

BigMark Tests razors by shaving Wookies

As gorgo2 stated the Adjustable is a "Slim" and the other a SuperSpeed. Check underneath the the heads on each for a Letter which corresponds to the year of manufacture, and a number which corresponds to the quarter. Here is a website that has the datecodes and the corresponding year each razor would have been manufactured in.

http://www.razorarchive.com/gillette-date-codes

5. HoosierTrooper

HoosierTrooper Steve-less in Indiana

Nice! Those look really clean already, a soak in warm soapy water made with Dawn dish soap is all they really need.