razorock shave gel

Discussion in 'Preshave and Aftershave' started by fatkid, Jan 2, 2012.

1. fatkid

fatkid Well-Known Member

Has anyone tried the razorock shave gel as a preshave? I'm thinking about ordering some and want to know your thoughts. Hows it compare to proraso pre shave?

2. Regan

Regan Well-Known Member

I have no experience with the gel... however any products from them i have used and really enjoyed. However why use a shave gel as a preshave... not a preshave as a preshave?

3. fatkid

fatkid Well-Known Member

Its either a lather less shave gel or a pre shave. I was trying to decide between it or proraso pre shave. I love razorock products but if proraso is the better pre shave then that's the road I'll take :)

4. CyanideMetal

CyanideMetal Wild and crazy guy

I have and use both the Pre-Post Proraso (white jar) and the RR Pre-shave Gel.

For me, the Proraso feels great and lubricates the first pass just fine. The RR, however, lubricates on all passes. When I wet my face between passes, I can feel the slickness left behind by the RR, but not so much for the Proraso. I just reapply the Proraso before my 2nd pass if I need it.

Have you ever tried pure Glycerin as a pre-shave? It's ~$4 for a long-lasting bottle at just about any drug store, Walmart, CVS, etc. Wet your face, work 7-8 drops of glycerine into your skin with your hands then apply lather.

5. fatkid

fatkid Well-Known Member

Cheaper then the RR or proraso that's for sure. Maybe I'll try that 1st. Thanks for the info!

6. Queen of Blades

Queen of Blades Mistress of Mischief Staff Member

Moderator Supporting Vendor
    Ummm....lubricates?
    That's not really the purpose of a preshave.
    That's the lather's job.
    :)

I'm not saying you're doing it wrong. It's your shave, and by all means enjoy it your way, but.......

A preshave's purpose is too soften the hairs before the shave.