Restoring

Discussion in 'Razor Restoration' started by Mw1977, Feb 26, 2012.

1. Mw1977

Mw1977 Member

Hi guys im new to straights so I'm not looking to do this just yet but I was wondering how I would clean and polish a blade which has engraving in it so I don't get rid of the design I'm quite good with things like polishing etc but only hand polishing is there a machine I can use I saw gssixgun has this thing he puts walnut bits in with some liquid polishing stuff. I don't want to spend a fortune but I think I might get into this as a hobby

2. gssixgun

gssixgun At this point in time...

Supporting Vendor
    There are several methods to use

Chemicals = Yeah, not so great results, at least not that have ever been posted on the forums

Sandpaper = It works but takes many hours

Tumbler = It works for polishing and is very safe but does not remove any metal so the pitting stays, it is shiny but it is there, and it takes up to 1 week

Buffers = The fastest and most effective way so far, but dangerous as hell to you and the razors

Dremel = Fast and effective but uneven results and dangerous to the razors more than any other method

As I mentioned by PM

Murphy's law of restoration says that "The Pitting will always be just deeper then the Etching"
    There is a balancing act that you have to learn between a finish and the etching there are no rules there is you and the razor and normally the razor makes the decision for you :) we are talking engraved or stamped designs here BTW
    Gold Etch is so fragile that if you even look at it crosseyed it comes off.

Some people believe that the marks are more important then the shine, others believe in clean shiny steel if you are working on your own razors that choice is yours alone...

Look at this thread, there are a couple that have etching, I used buffers here but was careful to go with a light touch on the etch

http://theshaveden.com/forums/threa...-tang-rebuild-some-friends.27568/#post-477974