Rosacea

Discussion in 'Skincare' started by RaZorBurn123, Apr 20, 2017.

1. RaZorBurn123

RaZorBurn123 waiting hardily...............

I have rosacea on my left cheek, it's a small patch right on my cheek bone.
    A lot of times I believe I irritate the area by shaving near the patch. If I don't shave over the area I'd have visible hair.
    I've been using Rosacea gel for a couple of weeks, it helps but I continue to irritate the area.
    No way will I grow a beard to rectify the problem..
    Does anyone have Rosacea? And if so what is your treatment if any.
    Thanks in advance
    K

2. crackstar

crackstar Israeli Ambassador to TSD

I know a guy who has rosacea and he says his dermatologist told him to use an electric razor. His beard is very tough but he seems to get good shaves. At least he's satisfied.

RaZorBurn123 and Shave Fu like this.
  3. wristwatchb

wristwatchb wristwatch "danger" b

Kerry, I have been using unrefined shea butter for several years in my aftershave routine. It's a great moisturizer, and it soothes skin irritation. My sister-in-law loves it for sunburned skin. I don't have rosacea, but I've read that it helps with that as well. I purchase it on Amazon. A little goes a long way. A 16 oz. tub lasts me well over a year, so it's very economical. Downsides, just so you know: it can be greasy if you use too much, and it has sort of a nutty smell.

RaZorBurn123 likes this.
  4. Shave Fu

Shave Fu Shavette Sensei

Hello, although not a dermatologist, for what i know:
    1) You can't just ask the others what their treatment is. Rosacea is chronic inflammation, that has subtypes. The treatment varies according to subtype, which the dermatologist must recognize. Also sometimes, there are systemic treatments, depending on the diagnosis.
    2) Dermatologists, in all occasions that skin gets irritated, prefer electric razors than blades, like crackstar said and when they can't, they reccommend against ATG shaving, because it's closer.