Shave Soap/Brush or Canned Gel/Foam with Cartridge Razor

Discussion in 'Cartridge Razors' started by wmbjr, Jun 8, 2015.

1. wmbjr

wmbjr Duck, duck, cooked goose!

I am a newbie and just found this site to do some research on before I settle into a new (or stick with my old) shaving routine. I have used cartridge razors for years (I currently have a variety of the Dorco packs from a good deal a while back so going through them before buying and trying a DE razor for the first time). When using the cartridge I always just used a can gel or foam but am going to start using brush and shave soap to see if there is a difference. Just curious if it is a waste of time to go the shave soap/brush route.

Do most people on this forum do a wet shave using shaving soap/cream and brush but still use a cartridge type razor instead of/along with a DE or do most use some type of gel/foam like barbasol or gillette foam or whatever and dont use shaving soap and a brush. Thanks for your thoughts!

2. swarden43

swarden43 "It's your shave. Enjoy it your way."©

Hi!
    To steal an analogy from a fellow Den member, asking if you should use a soap and brush here at TSD is like asking what cat you should get at ilovedogs.com

Really, though, try the soap and brush, then use what YOU want.

Last edited: Jun 8, 2015
    kurtmill and wmbjr like this.
  3. ARGH

ARGH Well-Known Member

The only waste of time were the years I spent shaving with canned goo. A Brush and soap or good cream are essential to a great shave.

wmbjr likes this.
  4. wmbjr

wmbjr Duck, duck, cooked goose!

I have a brush and am waiting on my soaps. Definitely looking forward to trying them and feeling the difference. Do soaps gunk up the razors much worse than the gel/foams do? How much more time do you think I should allocate to shaving to change from the foam to a brush and soap? Thanks!

5. Cheechako

Cheechako Active Member