Shavette Safety Covers

Discussion in 'Straight Razors' started by Sara-s, Jul 27, 2021.

1. Sara-s

Sara-s This Pun for Hire

I am new to shavettes. Liking the Kamisori style, but I have a safety concern. When you are not using it, the blade is uncovered (unlike a folded, hinged shavette.) I don’t like using the hinged style, so that is not an option.
    So here is my question;
    When you are not using your Kamisori shavette, do you use a purchased or home-made blade cover? If not, how do you store it safely, when not in use?

2. PLANofMAN

PLANofMAN Eccentric Razor Collector Staff Member

Moderator Article Team
    The Feather covers can be modified to fit CJB razors which are based on Kai. Would think it could be modified for Kai as well.

IAmTheJody likes this.
  3. IAmTheJody

IAmTheJody Gillette-i Master Staff Member

Maybe something like these?
    https://www.etsy.com/listing/581588613/kamisori-safety-cover

https://maggardrazors.com/products/feather-protective-cover-for-artist-club-ss-kamisori-style

4. Sara-s

Sara-s This Pun for Hire

How would you modify the Feather cover @PLANofMAN ?

@IAmTheJody the Etsy cover would probably work for a lot of Kamisori shavettes.

Thanks to you both for the info.

PLANofMAN and IAmTheJody like this.
  5. IAmTheJody

IAmTheJody Gillette-i Master Staff Member

You may also be able to talk one of our resident 3D design and print gurus into making something for you... @twhite @SlimGem .

PLANofMAN and Sara-s like this.
  6. b1hart

b1hart Speed Racer

When I travel with my AC DX (usually the razor I take, or a Blackland Vector), I take the blade out. If it’s less than 5 shaves on the blade, it goes back in the blade holder on top. If more than 5, blade gets binned.

At home, in between shaves, I have a Harbor Freight wooden tool chest that houses the shaving collection. Top area and top drawers are all traditional scaled razors, second level smaller drawers for kamisoris.