Shedding a VDH Deluxe boar

Discussion in 'The Brush' started by Rene, Apr 25, 2010.

1. Rene

Rene Well-Known Member

I use with lots of pleasure a VDH Deluxe boar, I received from Dridecker a while ago.

Only the number of hairs this boar sheds with each shave are far more than even my own scalp sheds :D

Is this common with a VDH brush, or do I have an unlucky shedder??

2. beyboo

beyboo New Member

While I cannot comment as I have no experience with a VDH boar, my Omega boars do not shred more than one hair in a month and usually because I did something to break it off.

Use the opportunity to get a badger knot and implant it in the VDH handle !!

3. geneaut

geneaut Member

My VDH shed a decent amount early, but then calmed down after a few weeks. After that initial stage it only drops a bristle about twice a month.

4. ChemErik

ChemErik Mr. Personality

I think the VDH brush QC is suspect and some are better than others. In any event, they have trimmed bristles which make them not so good a brush. Servicable certainly, but not nearly as good as a untrimmed boar such as made by Omega or Vulfix. While acceptable as a starter or backup brush, I expect you'll want to upgrade to a better boar or a badger brush at some point.

5. Dridecker

Dridecker Sherlock

:rofl Erik trust me, Rene has much better brushes already.

Rene, I don't want you to feel under any obligation to continue using that brush, I only picked it up and sent it to you as an example of a VDH brush. If it turns out to be a shedder, feel free to store it in the circular file cabinet.

6. 1OldGI

1OldGI New Member